Hooked On Golf Blog
swing_thoughts brain

Golf Playing Order – Who Goes First?

Written by: Tony Korologos | Date: Wednesday, May 13th, 2015
Categories: GolfGolf For WomenGolf InstructionHackersInstructionMiscellaneous
Tags:

Share HOG!Share on Facebook0Share on Google+12Tweet about this on TwitterEmail this to someonePrint this page

A gentlemen recently asked me a question which he wasn’t sure was etiquette related or rules related. The question is about playing order. He wanted to know if it is a rule that the person who won the previous hole goes first, or just etiquette.  This is actually a really good question and there are two basic answers, one for stroke play and one for match play.

Stroke Play

In stroke play it is common courtesy or etiquette for the person who shot the lowest score on the previous hole to go first. It is not a rule and if it speeds up play for other players to go first, in other words “ready golf,” then do it.

It is also common courtesy for the farthest player from the hole to go first but is also not a rule. In the interest of pace of play, or perhaps getting a tap-in putt out of the way of a longer putt, the closer player can and should go first.  In my opinion “honors” is trumped by pace of play.  Always go for the faster option!

Match Play

Match play is a different animal than stroke play with regards to playing order. In match play the person who won the previous hole must go first. Further, the person farther from the hole must go first. If another player goes out of order, his opponent(s) may require that his shot be replayed.

Defer?

The gentleman who asked the question also asked if a golfer who has the honor can “defer” playing first and make his opponent play first. The answer to this question is no.

Comments are closed.

  • Login | Register
  • HOG InterviewGary Player

    Golf Legend Gary Player


  • Social Networks

    Instagram

    Instagram

    HOG Twitter



    Tony Korologos Twitter



    Google Plus


    Facebook

  • Archives

  • Latest Golf Reviews