Hackers


Quarterfinal Net Match – 5 Shots, a Rock, and a Cloud of Dust

Written by: Tony Korologos | Wednesday, August 5th, 2015
Categories: GolfHackersMiscellaneous
Tags:

I’ve said many times that match play is my favorite form of golf.  Despite losing a quarter final net match today I still do.  Today’s match was an uphill battle all the way.  The best part of my game, putting, was essentially nullified by newly punched and sanded greens.

punched_green

Making putts in these conditions is not about skill.  It is about luck.  I’m not good at taking a full swing with my putter and feeling the ball compress.  Just don’t have the right feel for it!

My opponent was a very nice chap from Colombia of all places.  We chatted about Bogota and my trip there was was fun.  Gross I beat him by four shots and he won the net match 2-and-1.  That’s what getting five shots will do for you.  I hope he does well in the next round.

I’m not mad this time around.  It just wasn’t in the cards, the clubs, the sky, the grass.

Oh yeah the rock, mentioned in the title of this post.  On the 7th hole I was in the left rough but in good shape since my opponent had a lost ball.  I hit pitching wedge and heard a horrid thwacking sound.  The ball went about 30 yards.  I looked into the divot and there was about a five inch rock underneath my ball.  My new Mizuno JPX-850 Forged pitching wedge broke the rock in half and took some bad battle scars.  That blows.

See ya next year match play.


Gross Match Round One – One and Done

Written by: Tony Korologos | Thursday, June 18th, 2015
Categories: BoneheadsGolfHackers
Bonneville Golf Course Aerial Photo by Tony Korologos

Bonneville Golf Course – Aerial Photo by Tony Korologos

While I was playing a gross match in my men’s league Tiger shot 80 at the U.S. Open.  I beat him by five shots today… Yes yes I’ll surely catch grief about how the courses we played are different.  That is true.  Tiger played a par-70 course and I played a par-72 course… 🙂

In all seriousness I have but a few comments about my gross match, which I lost.  I don’t feel bad really.  I was killing the ball today.  Between the super hot conditions and hitting it pure, I was bombing shots way over the green.  One uphill shot of 112 I hit my sand wedge 30 yards long, and no I didn’t blade it.  On one hole I was 260 out and hit a hybrid over the universe. It must have gone 290.

The match today was between two players of almost exact same handicaps, so it should have been tight and it was.  My crappy short game was to blame for losing a couple of holes and not winning a couple of others, but I still managed a 75.   My opponent somehow did a Houdini impersonation, making pars from situations I would have guaranteed I’d make bogey.

The match was never more than one-up or one-down for the two of us all day, and the last four holes were all square.  On the final hole I pulled my approach from 109 to a hillside left of the green, short-sided.  I’m not sure even Phil Mickelson could have saved par from there, and I certainly did not.  My opponent had an easy two-putt to win the match on the 18th hole.

I could be mad but I’m not.  My achilles heel, short game, was the reason I didn’t win.  Until I fix that, this is about as good as it is going to be.

Hitting those solid shots felt good, despite the loss.


Dad and I Unknowingly Win Golf Tournament

Written by: Tony Korologos | Wednesday, June 10th, 2015
Categories: GolfHackers
Tags:

Friday of last week I had the pleasure of competing in a 27-hole member/guest tournament with my dad at his great club Hidden Valley.  I always jump at the chance to “hit the white spheroid” with my dad for a couple of reasons.  First, he’s my dad and the time we spend together on the course is something I really enjoy.  Second, his course is one of the best courses in the state, and was even ranked #1 at one time.

Hidden Valley Country Club Lakes Course - Par-3 6th

Hidden Valley Country Club Lakes Course – Par-3 6th – Aerial Photo by Tony Korologos

This 27-hole tournament over the years has been a tough one for us.  It is a Ryder Cup-like format: 9-holes best ball, 9-holes scramble, 9-holes alternate shot.  Historically we have done fine in all formats but the very pressure packed alternate shot.  We’ve cracked into the money a few times but that’s about it.

Friday I brought a C- game.  I shot my worst best ball in the history of our playing the event.  Usually I’m good for even par or one-over.  This time I flamed out with a 41.  But my dad shined in that part, carrying my arse.

In the alternate shot he and I both had one terrible swing which cost the team badly.  I hate doing that in alternate shot, leaving your partner in a bad situation.

In the scramble we only shot one-under…

Disgusted with our lame performance as a team, my dad and I didn’t even stick around to have a frosty beverage.  We were the first to turn in our scores and laughed at being the “leader in the clubhouse.”  When you are the first to turn in your card, you hold the lead!

Yesterday my dad called to inform me that while at the course to play, he was congratulated on the victory.  As it turns out WE WON our flight!  What a pleasant surprise which made my day.

Moral to the story: stick around and have a beer, just in case you won the tournament.


Golf Playing Order – Who Goes First?

Written by: Tony Korologos | Wednesday, May 13th, 2015
Categories: GolfGolf For WomenGolf InstructionHackersInstructionMiscellaneous
Tags:

A gentlemen recently asked me a question which he wasn’t sure was etiquette related or rules related. The question is about playing order. He wanted to know if it is a rule that the person who won the previous hole goes first, or just etiquette.  This is actually a really good question and there are two basic answers, one for stroke play and one for match play.

Stroke Play

In stroke play it is common courtesy or etiquette for the person who shot the lowest score on the previous hole to go first. It is not a rule and if it speeds up play for other players to go first, in other words “ready golf,” then do it.

It is also common courtesy for the farthest player from the hole to go first but is also not a rule. In the interest of pace of play, or perhaps getting a tap-in putt out of the way of a longer putt, the closer player can and should go first.  In my opinion “honors” is trumped by pace of play.  Always go for the faster option!

Match Play

Match play is a different animal than stroke play with regards to playing order. In match play the person who won the previous hole must go first. Further, the person farther from the hole must go first. If another player goes out of order, his opponent(s) may require that his shot be replayed.

Defer?

The gentleman who asked the question also asked if a golfer who has the honor can “defer” playing first and make his opponent play first. The answer to this question is no.


Next Read: Don’t Choke by Gary Player

Written by: Tony Korologos | Tuesday, March 24th, 2015
Categories: Champions TourGolfGolf BooksGolf For WomenGolf InstructionGolf LifeHackersInstructionPGA TourPro Golf
Tags:
DontChoke_GaryPlayer

Click book to stop choking…

If I would have gotten this book a couple of days earlier it might have saved me the $2.00 I lost in my Sunday nassau.  I hate giving strokes to higher handicappers!

Next on the book list is Gary Player’s book, Don’t Choke: A Champion’s Guide to Winning Under Pressure.

The book is not just about golf.  It is about handling high pressure situations in anywhere.

I’ll be reading this one soon and posting a full review so stay tuned.

Gary Player Interview

I had the pleasure of interviewing Mr. Player last year during the Humana Challenge.  It was a top highlight of my modest blogging career without a doubt.

Perhaps I can interview him again and talk about this book.  I’ll see what I can do.


1 5 6 7 8 9 84