Rory McIlory has a few options at this point, following throwing his club into the lake as per Rules of Golf 32.0A-3-A-Niner-6969, subsection B-989-E-Bravo-Niner.
- He can play a new club from the same position he threw the last one under penalty of one throw.
- He could drop a club within two club lengths of where the club entered the water hazard and throw a new club under penalty of one throw.
- Finally, he could take the point in which the club entered the hazard and drop a new club as far back as he wants, in line with the pin, under penalty of one throw.
Golf.com Has Officially Losts Its Mind